Tue, 18 Jun 2019

Bafana handed tough group for AFCON 2019

13 Apr 2019, 07:12 GMT+10

Cape Town - Bafana Bafana have been drawn in Group D in the African Cup of Nations (AFCON) tournament hosted in Egypt in June later this year.

Stuart Baxter's charges were drawn on Friday alongside Namibia, Ivory Coast and Morocco.

Defending champions Cameron will face Ghana, Benin and Guinea-Bissau in Group F.

Bafana Bafana clinched qualification to the 24-team tournament after a 2-1 away win over Libya in Tunisia last month.

South Africa have tasted AFCON success after clinching the title in 1996 after beating Tunisia 2-0.

After the eight second-round fixtures, there will be the quarter-finals, semi-finals, a third-place play-off and the final.

Group B: Burundi, Madagascar, Guinea, Nigeria

Group E: Angola, Mauritania, Mali, Tunisia

More Egypt News

Access More

Sign up for Egypt News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!